The Arts and Education Council announced today that anesthesiologist Dr. Jeffrey Carter and HOK Senior Principal Margaret McDonald will co-chair the St. Louis Arts Awards on Jan. 24, 2022. Performer and educator Keith Tyrone Williams will emcee the fundraiser. Dr. Carter, McDonald and Williams are members of the Arts and Education Council’s board of directors. Now in its 31st year, the St. Louis Arts Awards honors individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the St. Louis region’s arts community.

“At the Arts and Education Council, we’re grateful we have a passionate and talented board of directors. Jeffrey, Margaret and Keith already do so much to keep art happening and we’re thrilled that they will lead the 2022 St. Louis Arts Awards furthering the impact we can make in our community through the arts in the years to come,” said Cynthia A. Prost, Arts and Education Council president and CEO.

Margaret McDonald is part of the leadership team for HOK’s St. Louis studio as Senior Principal. In addition, she serves as a co-chair of the firmwide Marketing Board. McDonald serves on the board of directors for the Arts and Education Council and Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis. She is a member of International Women’s Forum, Urban Land Institute, FOCUS STL and CREW-St. Louis.

Jeffrey Carter, M.D., is an anesthesiologist in practice for 25 years. He is currently a Partner with Ballas Anesthesia, Inc., at Missouri Baptist Medical Center. A leader who is committed to promoting patient safety and high-quality medical care, Dr. Carter serves on the Missouri Board of Healing Arts, Missouri’s medical licensing and regulatory board. He has been recognized yearly since 2007 by his peers for clinical excellence with “The Best Doctors Award”. Dr. Carter proudly supports the St. Louis arts community as a Vice-Chairman on the Arts and Education Council’s board of directors and is a member of the Arts and Healing advisory panel.

Keith Tyrone Williams, a proud native of East St. Louis, is an Arts and Education Council board member and was honored with an Art Educator of the Year Award at the 2018 St. Louis Arts Awards. He is chair of musical theatre at the Grand Center Arts Academy, a St. Louis public charter middle and high school founded in 2010 and located in the heart of the Grand Center Arts District. He has performed, directed and choreographed throughout the United States and extensively in Europe. He has received numerous awards for his artistic work and contributions to the arts.

Since 1992, the Arts and Education Council has recognized more than 180 honorees at the St. Louis Arts Awards. The 2021 honorees were: Amy Kaiser, Lifetime Achievement in the Arts; Kirven and Antonio Douthit-Boyd, Excellence in the Arts; Brian Owens, Excellence in the Arts; Lynne and Jim Turley, Excellence in Philanthropy; Antionette Carroll, Arts Innovator; "Such Sweet Thunder" presented by St. Louis Shakespeare Festival, Nine PBS, Jazz St. Louis and The Big Muddy Dance Company, Arts Collaboration; John Nickel, 30th Anniversary Chairperson’s Award; and James McKay Jr., Jennings School District, Art Educator of the Year.

The 2022 St. Louis Arts Awards will take place on January 24, 2022, at the Royal Sonesta Chase Park Plaza Hotel. Tickets for the 31st annual celebration will be on sale this fall. 

Learn more

The Arts and Education Council is carefully monitoring the impacts of COVID-19 on our community. If an alternate event date becomes necessary, all sponsors and ticket holders will be immediately notified.