Each year, the Arts and Education Council recognizes arts leaders, celebrates corporate partnerships, and honors collaborations with sister arts organizations. Thank you for your generous support that keeps art happening!

Lifetime Achievement in the Arts

2023 Barbara Berner

2022 Mark Bernstein

2021 Amy Kaiser

2020 Solomon Thurman Jr. and Jack Lane and Michael Hamilton

2019 Ken Page

2018 Johnetta Haley and Dennis M. Reagan

2017 Steven Woolf, The Repertory Theatre of St. Louis

2016 Agnes Wilcox, Prison Performing Arts

2015 Jill McGuire, Regional Arts Commission

2014 Carol North and Nicholas Kryah, Metro Theater Company

2013 Chuck Berry

2012 Linda Kennedy

2011 Mae Wheeler

2010 Stephanie Riven

2009 Jeanne Trevor

2008 Gyo Obata

2007 Mary Strauss

2006 Joneal Joplin and Douglas Turpin

2005 Priscilla McDonnell

2004 Peter Bunce, Ken and Nancy Kranzberg

2003 Alice Gerdine

2002 Emily Rauh Pulitzer

2001 Charles Guenther, Ruth Slencynska and Ron Himes

2000 Joanne Kohn

1999 Norman Goldberg

1998 Judith Aronson, PhD. and Adam Aronson

1997 Margie Wolcott May

1996 Dr. Leigh Gerdine

1995 Margaret Grigg

1994 Katherine G. Wells and Ben H. Wells

1993 Joseph Pulitzer

1992 Evelyn Newman

Excellence in Philanthropy

2021 Lynne and Jim Turley

2019 Noémi and Michael Neidorff

2017 Cathy and Jim Berges, Berges Family Foundation

2016 Arthur and Helen Baer Charitable Foundation

2015 Ken and Nancy Kranzberg

2014 Thelma and David Steward

2013 Judy and Jerry Kent

2012 Mabel Dorn Reeder Foundation

2011 Christian B. Peper

2010 Wilfred and Ann Lee Konneker

2009 Laurance and Virginia Browning

2008 Mary Ann Lee

2007 Sally S. Levy

2006 Annabeth and John Weil

2005 Alison and John Ferring

2004 Marilyn and Sam Fox

2003 Whitaker Foundation

2002 Lucy and Stanley Lopata

1997 E. Desmond Lee

Corporate Leadership in the Arts

2015 Warner Baxter and Tom Voss, Ameren

Corporate Champions of the Arts

2014 Edward Jones Partners and Associates

Corporate Support of the Arts

2018 World Wide Technology

2017 U.S. Bank

2013 PNC Bank

2012 Novus International, Inc.

2011 Wells Fargo Advisors

2010 Ameren

2008 Thompson Coburn LLP

2007 Brown Shoe

2006 Sachs Properties

2005 Centene Corporation

2004 Anheuser-Busch Companies

2003 The Boeing Company

2002 Bank of America

2001 Maritz Inc.

2000 UMB Bank, N.A.

1999 Commerce Bank and William T. Kemper Foundation

1998 Edward Jones

1997 Monsanto Fund

1996 Mark Twain Banks

1995 Emerson

1994 The May Department Stores Company

1993 Union Electric Company

1992 Southwestern Bell Corporation

Excellence in the Arts

2022 The Black Rep and Anita Jackson

2021 Brian Owens and Kirven and Antonio Douthit-Boyd

2020 Ambassadors of Harmony and Pulitzer Arts Foundation

2019 Brent Benjamin

2018 Gene Dobbs Bradford

2017 Mike Isaacson and Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum

2016 The Bosman Twins and Bach Society of Saint Louis

2015 Shakespeare Festival St. Louis and Denise Thimes

2014 St. Louis Symphony and Lee Nolting, COCA

2013 Opera Theatre of Saint Louis and Michael Uthoff

2012 Contemporary Arts Museum St. Louis and Peter Martin

2011 Repertory Theatre of St. Louis

2010 David Robertson

2009 Robert Powell and Cinema St. Louis

2008 Ivor David Balding, Gerald Early and Stages St. Louis

2007 Susan Slaughter, Carolbeth True and Saint Louis Art Museum

2006 Christine Brewer, Herb Drury and Jazz St. Louis

2005 Reggie Thomas, Craft Alliance and Community Music School of Webster University

2004 Willie Akins and Young Audiences of St. Louis

2003 Johnnie Johnson, Peter Sargent and Agnes Wilcox

2002 David Halen, Patrick Schuchard and The MUNY

2001 Dance St. Louis

2000 Charles MacKay, Ernest Trova and Center of Creative Arts (COCA)

1999 Alexandra Zaharias, Patricia and Fredrick McKissack and The Sheldon Arts Foundation

1998 Marita Woodruff, Annelise Mertz and Metro Theater Company

1997 Ethelyn Sparfield and Jane Sauer

1996 Heikki Seppa, William Gass and Josephine Throdahl

1995 John Kendall, Robert Orchard and Laumeier Sculpture Park

1994 Arthur Osver, Henry Townsend, Mona Van Duyn and Jarvis Thurston

1993 Colin Graham, Steven Woolf and Katherine Dunham

1992 Leonard Slatkin, Robert McFerrin and Webster University 

Art Educator of the Year

2022 Rosalind-Denise Rogers, Lincoln Middle School in the East ST. Louit School District

2021 James McKay Jr., Jennings School District

2020 Dr. Nikki Spotts, Shaw Visual and Performing Arts Elementary

2019 Amy Freet, Ferguson-Florissant School District

2018 Keith Tyrone Williams, Grand Center Arts Academy

2017 Harvey Lockhart, Riverview Gardens School District

2016 Doug Erwin, Ferguson-Florissant School District

2015 Winifred Crock, Parkway Central High School

2014 Heidi Morgan, University City

2013 Duane Martin Foster

2012 Jason Brown

2011 Wayne Salomon, John Burroughs School

2010 Beverly Whittington, St. Louis Public Schools

2009 Sr. Patricia Giljum, St. Louis Archdiocese

2008 Linda Packard, Reed Elementary, Ladue

2007 Sr. Gariel Mary Hoare, Nerinx Hall

2006 Joseph Schulte, SLUH

2005 Jan Davis, PhD., Ferguson-Florissant

2004 Mary Eichenberger, Feguson-Florissant

2003 Sr. Gail Buckman, St. Gabriel the Archangel

2002 Frederick J. Nelson, MICDS

2001 Gary Lang, Seckman High School, Fox

2000 Suzanne Bushey, Ames Visual & Performing Elementary, St. Louis Public Schools

1999 Kemara Skinner, Soldan International Studies High School, St. Louis Public Schools

1998 Celeste Banta, McKelvey Elementary, Parkway

Young Artist of the Year

2002 Melanie Hadley

Arts Innovator

2022 PaintedBlack STL

2021 Antionette Carroll

2019 Chris Hansen

2017 Pianos for People

2015 Jim McKelvey and Doug Auer, Third Degree Glass Factory

2012 Joan Lipkin

2011 Paul Reuter (Sheldon Arts Foundation)

2009 Jessica Hentoff

Arts Collaborator and Arts Collaboration

2022 Classic 107.3

2021 "Such Sweet Thunder" presented by St. LouisShakespeare Festival , Nine PBS, Jazz St. Louis and The Big Muddy Dance Company

2020 Adam Maness

2018 Art on the Square

2016 Dr. Jacquelyn Lewis-Harris, University of Missouri-St. Louis

2014 Des Lee Fine Arts Education Collaborative

2010 Citygarden

Arts Startup of the Year

2019 Tennessee Williams Festival St. Louis

2018 Saint Louis Fashion Fund

Champion for the Arts

2020 Employees Community Fund of Boeing St. Louis

2019 Sue Greenberg

2016 Dr. Tim and Kim Eberlein

2013 St. Louis Public Radio | 90.7 KWMU

2010 Regional Arts Commission

Champion for the Literary Arts

2011 Karen Duffy

30th Anniversary Chairperson’s Award

2021 John Nickel